What’s On

Rita, Sue and Bob Too

Rita, Sue and Bob Too

Tuesday, 25 April, 2017 to Saturday, 29 April, 2017

Sharp, funny and delightfully direct, Andrea Dunbar’s semi-autobiographical play tells the story of Rita and Sue, two feisty working class girls from a rundown council estate who both embark on an affair with married man Bob.

Hairspray

Hairspray

Tuesday, 16 May, 2017 to Saturday, 20 May, 2017

You can't stop the beat in this big and bold musical about one girl's inspiring dream to dance!

Legally Blonde Jr

Legally Blonde Jr

Wednesday, 07 June, 2017 to Saturday, 10 June, 2017

Following on from last year’s hit Rent and previous hits such as Fame and We Will Rock You, Musical Theatre students from Mechanics' Performing Arts now present Legally Blonde Jr.

Wonderland

Wonderland

Wednesday, 14 June, 2017 to Friday, 16 June, 2017

An original dance piece based on the classic novel Alice in Wonderland.

Dick Turpin’s Last Ride

Dick Turpin’s Last Ride

Friday, 16 June, 2017 to Saturday, 17 June, 2017

What actually is the truth about Dick Turpin? Criminal or hero? Felon or free spirit? As with many characters from history, time and romanticism colour the facts and change our views.

Arabian Nights

Arabian Nights

Tuesday, 20 June, 2017 to Wednesday, 21 June, 2017

A simple and delightfully inventive re-telling of the stories from the Arabian Nights.

The Accused

The Accused

Friday, 23 June, 2017 to Saturday, 24 June, 2017

The Accused is a tense courtroom drama with a difference. The audience will act as the jury, as if they were in the Central Criminal Court at the Old Bailey.

We Are Dance Family

We Are Dance Family

Friday, 14 July, 2017 to Saturday, 15 July, 2017

Every couple of years Melissa Radway School of Dance take you on a journey through a theme, from Dance Ourselves Dizzy to A Time To Dance. This year they want to share just how special their dance family is and also remind everyone how important your own family is, no matter how big or small.

Box Office: 01924 211 311

Minicom (text-type users): 01924 215 522

Theatre Royal Wakefield, Drury Lane, Wakefield, West Yorkshire WF1 2TE

Wakefield Theatre Royal and Opera House was designed by Frank Matcham and opened in 1894.